Trailing Off…

My thoughts do not make sense, I stare into space, the light has gone out of my eyes. I move slowly, I speak quietly, everyone knows something is wrong. I can sit for hours and not notice the passing of time. I try to hold on but as the fleeting nimbus clouds on a windy day my thoughts trail off and float away.

‘Pardon? I did not quite catch that’ is my most frequent sentence as I try so hard to keep up with your conversation. Reading and re-reading over the same page, same paragraph, same sentence.

I do not know where I go. I do not know how my mind becomes idea spaghetti. Stresses, triggers, flashbacks. I do not know which came first but I do know that the girl you once knew has trailed off and does not know when she will be back.

Leave a Reply

