Different but the same

The atmosphere was highly charged and full of emotion. Two superheroes watched two sunflowers swaying in the soft breeze. Sunlight sparkled over the sea. Side by side, barely speaking they heard a song carried along on the wind. Neither said a word, none were needed; their thoughts were different but the same.

Needless to say I keep [him] in check

First verse sung by Swae Lee

He asks me a million questions a day but I like it. We talk about things I never have with anyone else. I don’t have answers so we muse on all the countless possibilities in an effort to expand our minds.

[S]He was a bad, bad, nevertheless

He has a past but then again so do I. He dispenses the information slowly in carefully measured doses. I learn about him. There is no judgement. He is open and honest but I am holding back. Sometimes we struggle to communicate, are we just too different? mostly, I think that we are the same.

Calling it quits now, baby I’m a wreck

Stay at my place, baby you’re a wreck

I try not to think about it. He goes, he returns, he goes, he returns. It hurts every time. It is not supposed be this way. Perhaps the idea of us is better than the reality, perhaps he doesn’t like my company? I try not to think about it but it is all I can think about.

Thinkin’ in a bad way, losin’ your grip

Screamin’ at my face, baby don’t trip

In the darkness there are misunderstandings. In the darkness there are cross words and insults. One night things go too far and I do not know why, so I let it slide once. It’s shame on me twice; there will be no third time.

And you’ll be left in the dust, unless I stuck by ya

You’re the sunflower

I think your love will be too much

I choose to stay. Head held high I know what and who I am. I worked hard for everything I have and no one is going to take that away from me or bring me down. Before you point the finger turn it around on yourself first and look inside to where that criticism comes from. I love you and you love me but never forget that you are free

Every time I’m leaving on ya

you don’t make it easy no

Second verse sung by Post Malone

She has me spun. She’s straight up and ready to move on but I need time to let it all sink in. I like her but I don’t really know what is happening. I stay for a few more days but I need to get away. Time flies by. I am not entirely sure how it got like this; I need to alone and think.

Wish I could be there for ya

Give me a reason to

There is a distance between us, it gets bigger instead of smaller. In the early hours of the morning she hints at something missing. I pretend not to hear her.

Oh, everytime I’m walkin’ out, I can hear ya telling’ me to turn around

Fighting for my trust and you won’t back down, even if we gotta risk it all right now

I hear her voice in my ear as I fall asleep even on the days we do not speak. She’s always right there when I come back and doesn’t make a big deal out it. Always happy and smiling, full of life. Provocative, mysterious, unconventional. She knows what she wants and challenges me. She gets comfortable.

I know you’re scared of the unknown. You don’t wanna be alone

I know I always come and go but it’s out of my control

Take me or leave me, why can she not understand? I have been here before, ok, not quite like this but I know what happens next. Honesty and loyalty are important to me, why can’t she see? She wants it all and no one gets it all. It is what it is. End of discussion.

And you’ll be left in the dust, unless I stuck by ya

You’re the sunflower

I think your love will be too much

I’m back again. There is something about her. I like her and she likes me. Who knows where it is going or what it is going to be, so, for now, let’s just see.

Sunflower by Post Malone & Swae Lee from the Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – maybe we are all simply alternate versions of ourselves?

Miles Morales & Gwen Stacey’s first kiss. Image from Marvel.com

Leave a comment